PORT COLBORNE, ON – Humberstone Speedway held its 9th edition of the Pete Cosco Memorial Sunday Night. Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, New York won his third feature in the 50 lap S&W Service Centre 358 Modifieds. St. Catharines, Ontario native Jordan Cosco, Pete’s Grandson, scored the win in the ROC Sportsman feature. The GR Enviro Rail Street Stocks feature was won by Justin Ramsay of Bellville, Ontario. Joe Isabell took home the win in the Tender Cuts Meats Mod Lites while St. Catharines driver Alex Riley scored the win in the Bosch Car Services Mini Stocks.

Mat Williamson and Todd Gordon brought the Modifieds to the green flag, with Williamson showing the way. Williamson would pull into the infield on lap three, with Gordon taking the lead. Todd Gordon would take off in the lead, but the field would slow down once again as Tom Neale, Justin Sharp, and Dylan Davidson got together on the front straightaway. Erick Rudolph would move into third and Gary Lindberg would race in fourth place. Rudy would move into second on lap six. The third-generation driver from Ransomville, NY would catch Gordon and would take over the lead on lap 12 after passing Gordon on the outside of turns three and four. Gary Lindberg would take second away on lap 17, as Rudolph started to pull away from the field. Rudolph would have a near three-second lead over the field, but it was erased on lap 27 as Brad Rouse spun in turn one. The restart would see Rudolph back in the lead ahead of Lindberg. Rudolph would drive away from the field to score his third Pete Cosco Memorial victory. Lindberg, Todd Gordon, Brad Rouse, and Dylan Davidson would complete the top five.

RACE RESULTS – August 20th, 2023

A Feature 1 (50 Laps): 1. 25-Erick Rudolph[8]; 2. 37S-Gary Lindberg[11]; 3. 28-Todd Gordon[2]; 4. 18R-Brad Rouse[5]; 5. 73-Dylan Davidson[17]; 6. 96-Fred Carleton[16]; 7. 8S-Justin Sharp[13]; 8. 74-David Flannigan[7]; 9. 28X-Billy Bleich Jr[10]; 10. 09-Trevor Wright[9]; 11. 2COOL-Derek VanMil[18]; 12. 88-Shayne Pierce[4]; 13. 53-Darrell Farraway[12]; 14. 26C-Luke Carleton[6]; 15. 82-Ken Winfield[14]; 16. 3RS-Dalton Slack[15]; 17. 2X-Tom Neale[3]; 18. 6-Mat Williamson[1]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 6-Mat Williamson[1]; 2. 28-Todd Gordon[4]; 3. 09-Trevor Wright[6]; 4. 28X-Billy Bleich Jr[3]; 5. 8S-Justin Sharp[2]; 6. 96-Fred Carleton[5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 88-Shayne Pierce[1]; 2. 74-David Flannigan[2]; 3. 26C-Luke Carleton[3]; 4. 37S-Gary Lindberg[5]; 5. 82-Ken Winfield[6]; 6. 73-Dylan Davidson[4]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 18R-Brad Rouse[2]; 2. 25-Erick Rudolph[3]; 3. 2X-Tom Neale[1]; 4. 53-Darrell Farraway[4]; 5. 3RS-Dalton Slack[5]; 6. 2COOL-Derek VanMil[6]

Rudolph Wins Pete Cosco Memorial at Humberstone