PORT COLBORNE, ONT – By STEVEN PETTY – Third generation driver Erick Rudolph from Ransomville, NY was victorious in the second running of the Pete Cosco Memorial for the DIRTcar Modifieds as CAA Niagara presented the memorial event to honor late speedway owner Pete Cosco who passed away two years ago. Rudolph’s victory was his second in the Cosco Memorial. Brad Rouse from St. Catharines, Ontario won his sixth PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman main event of the season. “The Keystone State Warrior” Dennis Lunger Jr from Albion, Pennsylvania won his seventh Pinty’s Delicious Foods RUSH Late Models feature of the season. Bill Bleich Jr from Port Robinson, Ontario earned his third win of the season in the JC Auto Street Stocks. Jason Coutu from St. Catharines, Ontario won his second Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature of the season. Dylan Llord from St. Catharines, Ontario drove to his tenth win of the season in the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks.

DIRTcar Modifieds, both big and small blocks, took the green flag for their 75 lap Pete Cosco Memorial event and Mike Bowman and Scott Wood led the field to the green flag with Bowman showing the way with Mat Williamson racing in second. Williamson would take the lead away on lap three and would open up the lead over Bowman, Lindberg and Rudolph. Lindberg would go to the outside to take second away from Bowman on lap seven and would go after race leader Williamson. The races first caution came out for Jeff McGinnis who came to a stop on the exit of turn two. On the restart, Rudolph would battle with Bowman for the third spot as Williamson opened the lead over Lindberg. On lap 17, Williamson continued to show the way around the Humberstone oval. Don Spiece came to a stop on the main straightaway to bring out the races second caution on lap 20. Off the lap 25 restart, Williamson took off with Erick Rudolph moving into second. Rudolph reeled in Williamson for the lead as Chris Steele, the last driver for the Cosco family, worked in the third spot driving his new car for Slack racing, The leader would hit lap traffic on lap 35. Chad Brachmann and Dylan Davidson got hooked together in turn three to bring out the caution on lap 36. Williamson, Rudolph and Steele led the way with thirty to go.

Rudolph worked the way in front of Williamson to take the lead on lap 55. In the final 20 circuits, Rudolph had to hold off challenges from Williamson and Steele for much of the final lap distance. Rudolph would eventually drive away from Williamson and Steele in the late going to go on to pick up the victory. “Humberstone is one of my favorite places to race” stated Rudolph in victory lane. “The track fits my driving style and I love it here” Rudolph added.


DIRTcar Modifieds: (Big Blocks (BB) Marked in Parenthesis) ERICK RUDOLPH, Mat Williamson (BB), Chris Steele, Gary Lindberg, Ryan Susice, Ricky Richner, Freddy Carleton, Tommy Flannigan, Shayne Pierce, Scott Wood, Todd Gordon, Dylan Davidson, Justin Wright (BB), Wayne Conn, Don Spiece, Rick Regalski Jr (BB), Tyler McPherson, Chad Brachmann, Mike Bowman (BB), Rick Hoctor, Jeff McGinnis

Qualifying Winners: Rick Richner, Mat Williamson, Ryan Susice