PORT COLBORNE, ONT – By STEVEN PETTY – Third generation driver Erick Rudolph from Ransomville, NY was victorious in the second running of the Pete Cosco Memorial for the DIRTcar Modifieds as CAA Niagara presented the memorial event to honor late speedway owner Pete Cosco who passed away two years ago. Rudolph’s victory was his second in the Cosco Memorial. Brad Rouse from St. Catharines, Ontario won his sixth PC Works DIRTcar Sportsman main event of the season. “The Keystone State Warrior” Dennis Lunger Jr from Albion, Pennsylvania won his seventh Pinty’s Delicious Foods RUSH Late Models feature of the season. Bill Bleich Jr from Port Robinson, Ontario earned his third win of the season in the JC Auto Street Stocks. Jason Coutu from St. Catharines, Ontario won his second Cosco Haulage Mini Stocks feature of the season. Dylan Llord from St. Catharines, Ontario drove to his tenth win of the season in the Mike Knapp Ford Pro 4 Trucks.

DIRTcar Modifieds, both big and small blocks, took the green flag for their 75 lap Pete Cosco Memorial event and Mike Bowman and Scott Wood led the field to the green flag with Bowman showing the way with Mat Williamson racing in second. Williamson would take the lead away on lap three and would open up the lead over Bowman, Lindberg and Rudolph. Lindberg would go to the outside to take second away from Bowman on lap seven and would go after race leader Williamson. The races first caution came out for Jeff McGinnis who came to a stop on the exit of turn two. On the restart, Rudolph would battle with Bowman for the third spot as Williamson opened the lead over Lindberg. On lap 17, Williamson continued to show the way around the Humberstone oval. Don Spiece came to a stop on the main straightaway to bring out the races second caution on lap 20. Off the lap 25 restart, Williamson took off with Erick Rudolph moving into second. Rudolph reeled in Williamson for the lead as Chris Steele, the last driver for the Cosco family, worked in the third spot driving his new car for Slack racing, The leader would hit lap traffic on lap 35. Chad Brachmann and Dylan Davidson got hooked together in turn three to bring out the caution on lap 36. Williamson, Rudolph and Steele led the way with thirty to go.

Rudolph worked the way in front of Williamson to take the lead on lap 55. In the final 20 circuits, Rudolph had to hold off challenges from Williamson and Steele for much of the final lap distance. Rudolph would eventually drive away from Williamson and Steele in the late going to go on to pick up the victory. “Humberstone is one of my favorite places to race” stated Rudolph in victory lane. “The track fits my driving style and I love it here” Rudolph added.


DIRTcar Modifieds: (Big Blocks (BB) Marked in Parenthesis) ERICK RUDOLPH, Mat Williamson (BB), Chris Steele, Gary Lindberg, Ryan Susice, Ricky Richner, Freddy Carleton, Tommy Flannigan, Shayne Pierce, Scott Wood, Todd Gordon, Dylan Davidson, Justin Wright (BB), Wayne Conn, Don Spiece, Rick Regalski Jr (BB), Tyler McPherson, Chad Brachmann, Mike Bowman (BB), Rick Hoctor, Jeff McGinnis

Qualifying Winners: Rick Richner, Mat Williamson, Ryan Susice


(Dundee, NY) – Eldon Payne Jr. could taste that sweet taste of victory. After having led the first twenty-nine laps in what was a crazy thirty-lap feature for the Friendly Dodge & Ford Big Block/Small Block Modifieds, but the final caution spelled disaster for Payne.

As the field slowed for the final caution flag on lap twenty-nine, Payne’s car darted to the top of turn four and came to an abrupt stop. The rear end of the Mike’s Harder Lemonade No. 28p didn’t have one more lap left in it.

Payne’s misfortune spelled huge opportunity for Ransomville, NY driver Erick Rudolph. Rudolph, a regular at Ransomville, was off on Friday night from competition in the Niagara region and took advantage of extra track time in preparation for Tuesday’s Short Track Super Series event at Outlaw. The test and tune session sure paid off.

Rudolph started the race from position number eighteen and quickly moved his way up to the top ten. He would get help from several caution flags during the event as right rear tires were the Achilles heel of several drivers on Friday night. During a caution at the half way mark, Rudolph had advanced fifteen spots to move up into the third spot.

Payne was extremely fast with his Billy The Kid Big Block engine, speeding around the cushion and logging some fast laps while doing so. But as the race wore on, Rudolph’s car got better and he started chasing Payne down for the lead.

The two battled tooth and nail with fewer than ten laps to go, but Payne had the ponies to keep his car out front. Rudolph appeared to have the position on more than one occasion, but the caution would come out and dash his hopes for the lead.

“It seemed like I almost got by (Payne) several times but the caution kept coming out,” said Rudolph in Outlaw Speedway’s brand new victory lane. “It looked like something broke on his car when the last caution came out.”

Rudolph was correct. The rear end on the No. 28p gave way as the caution came out on lap twenty-nine, ending Payne’s night in heartbreak.

“It’s too bad we couldn’t race it out until the end there, but I will take the win for my team,” said Rudolph who also leads the points for the North Region of the Short Track Super Series.

“With Ransomville being off, we decided to bring this car down here to shake it down and I imagine we will come back on Tuesday and leave it just like it is.”

Rudolph held off Tyler Siri and Danny Johnson on the last lap to score the victory. Steve Paine finished a strong fourth from twenty-first and Penn Yan, NY pilot Derrick Podsiadlo scored his third top five in four races.

Outlaw Speedway Elm Chevrolet Night Quick Results 6/3/2016:

FRIENDLY DODGE & FORD MODIFIEDS, 23 cars (30 Laps): ERICK RUDOLPH (1), Tyler Siri, Danny Johnson, Steve Paine, Derrick Podsiadlo, Brady Fultz, Dave Rauscher, Jim LaRock, Justin Wright, Joe Dgien, Marcus Dinkins, Randy Chrysler, Daryl Hilkert, Eldon Payne Jr., Cory Costa, Gary Tomkins, Lee Bills, Donnie Lawson, Billy Van Pelt, Jordan Siri, Ron Cartwright Jr., James Sweeting, Alan Johnson

Heat Race Winners: Donnie Lawson, Eldon Payne Jr., Gary Tomkins
Lap Leaders: Eldon Payne Jr. 1-29, Rudolph 30