RANSOMVILLE, N.Y. (May 25, 2019) – It took four weeks longer than expected, but Ransomville Speedway finally got its 62nd season of racing underway on Friday night with Dunkin Donuts, 87Buf and Triple T Auto Parts presenting the Memorial Day weekend/Opening Night program. The start to the season had been delayed by three weeks after steady rains throughout much of May had left the property waterlogged and unable to dry out.

Reigning Krown Undercoating 358 Modified champion, Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, began his title defense by scoring a win in the extra-distance 40-lap, $2,000-to-win feature. In similar fashion, 2018 Investors Service Sportsman champ Brett Senek of Ransomville won the opening night feature. Cory Sawyer of Niagara Falls captured the Ki-Po Chevrolet Street Stock feature. Mike Kramarz of Niagara Falls won the Gippster’s Collision Mini Stock feature. Veteran driver Butch Zimmerman of Lockport won the Stevenson’s Hardware Novice Sportsman feature.

Rudolph had the luck of the draw on opening night as he drew the pole for the 40-lap Modified feature. That starting position paid off as he led all 40 laps for his first win of 2019 at the “Big R”. Rudolph was pursued throughout the race by Mat Williamson in his return to weekly Modified racing at Ransomville. Williamson kept close tabs on Rudolph, especially in lapped traffic, but could not make a significant challenge for the lead.

Rudolph survived a couple of late race restarts and was able to cruise to the checkered flag followed by Williamson. Gary Lindberg came home in third. Chad Brachmann and Mike Bowman made impressive runs late in the race to place inside the top five. The top ten was split evenly with five Americans and five Canadians finishing at the front of the field.

As an added bonus, Rudolph won a drum of VP Racing Fuel by posting the fastest lap in the feature with a quick time of 17.477 seconds. Andrew Spurback was the recipient of a brand new Hoosier Racing tire based on a random draw.



Heat Winners: Erick Rudolph. Allan Wills, Ryan Susice

Feature: ERICK RUDOLPH, Mat Williamson, Gary Lindberg, Chad Brachmann, Mike Bowman, Ryan Susice, Pete Bicknell, Greg Martin, Tyler Willard, Jeff McGinnis, Phil Vigneri, Jr., Matt Farnham, Rick Richner, Mike Williams, Andy Jankowiak, Andrew Spurback, Brandon Michaud, Allan Wills, Steve Lewis, Jr., John Smith, Tommy Flannigan, Jesse Cotriss, Nick Joy, Jim Zimmerman