Race Day at All-Tech: ‘Sunshine Swing’ Storylines, Stars & Sleepers

LAKE CITY, FL– For the first time in the 2022 season, it’s race day!

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco is set to kick off the ’22 campaign at All-Tech Raceway in Lake City, Fla.

Wendell Durrance’s pristine half-mile speedway hosts the STSS for the second time in the annual Florida visit dubbed the ‘Sunshine Swing.’

Tonight – the first of four consecutive nights of racing – the STSS big-block/small-block Modifieds go for 30-laps in a $4,000-to-win main event to kick off the season opening weekend.


The STSS returns to All-Tech Raceway, the site of the inaugural ‘Sunshine Swing’ in 2020. Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen won two of the three races that year, and claimed the weekend championship.

After a postponement last night, the STSS competitors have a busy day ahead, as rounds of practice will take place from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. The STSS Facebook page will have updates throughout the rounds of practice.

Ransomville, N.Y.’s Erick Rudolph is the defending ‘Sunshine Swing’ champion, claiming the title in ’21 at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Florida.


Stewart Friesen enters the ‘Sunshine Swing’ as the leading STSS winner in the State of Florida. Friesen picked up two wins in the 2020 Swing and followed it up with one triumph in the 2021 Swing.

Erick Rudolph joins Friesen as the lone two drivers to win races in both ‘Sunshine Swings.’ Rudolph won one time in each year, including the $10,000 finale at All-Tech in 2020.


Phoenix, N.Y.’s Larry Wight was absent at last year’s ‘Sunshine Swing’ due to the birth of his second child. Now, Wight returns to All-Tech where he was a steady top-five runner in 2020.

Michael Maresca was a strong contender in last year’s ‘Sunshine Swing.’ The Potsdam, N.Y., native brought the late Gary Simpson’s No. 12K to multiple top-five finishes during the week. Now Maresca returns to the ‘Sunshine State’ in his own No. 7mm car.

While he doesn’t often find himself on the sleepers list, Savannah,

N.Y.’s Matt Sheppard heads to All-Tech having struggled in the state of Florida for the last two years. Sheppard did find himself in the top-five on two occasions in the 2020 ‘Sunshine Swing.’ He’ll look to find his form to kick off the new year.


The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman will join the STSS Modifieds once again for the annual ‘Sunshine Swing.’

The Sportsman will race for 25-laps and $1,500-to-win in the first two nights of the swing.


The pits will be cleared for practice at 8:30 a.m., and reopen at 9 a.m. Practice rounds will begin at 11 a.m. and run until 1 p.m.

Pit admission for practice will be $30 for Adults and $15 for Kids (ages 6-12). Children 5 & Under get in FREE. Grandstand admission is also FREE for practice.

Pits will again be cleared at 2:30 p.m. and reopen at 3 p.m. for the opening race of the week.

Grandstand gates will open at 5 p.m. and admission will be $25 for Adults. Kids 12 and under get in FREE.

Wednesday night Pit admission is $40 for Adults. Kids (6-12) are $15 and Children 5 and Under are $5.


The entire ‘Sunshine Swing’ will be streamed live on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv).

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloRacing, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Penske Racing Shocks, Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz, Algonkin Motel, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Belmont’s Garage, Superior Remodeling, Spyder High Performance Filters, Fastline Performance, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, WELD Racing & Wilwood.


February 7, 2020 – All-Tech Raceway/Lake City, Fla. – STEWART FRIESEN – Mat Williamson – Matt Sheppard – Larry Wight – Billy Decker

February 7, 2020 – All-Tech Raceway/Lake City, Fla. – STEWART FRIESEN – Mat Williamson – Anthony Perrego – Matt Sheppard – Erick Rudolph

February 8, 2020 – All-Tech Raceway/Lake City, Fla. – ERICK RUDOLPH – Stewart Friesen – Mike Gular – Billy Pauch Jr. – Matt Sheppard

January 28, 2021 – Bubba Raceway Park/Ocala, Fla. – ERICK RUDOLPH – Matt Sheppard – Stewart Friesen – Max McLaughlin – Michael Maresca

January 29, 2021 – Bubba Raceway Park/Ocala, Fla. – STEWART FRIESEN – Michael Maresca – Erick Rudolph – Max McLaughlin – Billy Decker

January 30, 2021 – Bubba Raceway Park/Ocala, Fla. – MIKE GULAR – Erick Rudolph – Billy Decker – Tyler Siri – Matt Sheppard